20 Replies Latest reply on May 6, 2009 10:50 AM by kglad

Stop a sound looping.

thepeterep

Hello,

I am fairly new to Flash, but I'm creating a sort of sampler for a university project. I have 16 circles each with toggle buttons. The on state included a sound file placed on the toggle movie clip's timeline. The sound is set to Start and Loop.

Basically, I want the first frame of the movie clip (the off toggle) to stop the sound from looping but despite my best efforts, nothing seems to work.

I have tried this.stop(), seachord.stop(), this.stop(Sound), this.stopAllSounds. I wonder if there is some sort of actionscript that will allow me to change the state of the sound file from Loop to Repeat, at least that way the sound will stop with a simple stop() script... I hope.

Alternatively, is there a way to stopAllSounds within one movie clip, rather than globally?

Hope that all makes sense.

Thanks,

Peter.

• 1. Re: Stop a sound looping.
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

you have limited ability to control sounds that are attached to timelines.  you can work-around your problem, but it's more messy than doing it correctly from the start:

use the flash sound class to play sounds in flash.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Stop a sound looping.
            thepeterep Level 1

Do you think you could possiblt point in the right direction of a good introduction to Sound Class. I searched google before I posed the question but couldn't find anything useful or relevant.

Thanks.

• 3. Re: Stop a sound looping.

the flash help files are always the best place to start.  check the sound class.  there will be a list of its methods and properties and there is usually sample code towards the bottom of the class listings.

1 person found this helpful
              • 4. Re: Stop a sound looping.
                thepeterep Level 1

Thanks,

I shall have a look.

• 5. Re: Stop a sound looping.

you're welcome.