7 Replies Latest reply on May 5, 2009 10:21 PM by Jim_Simon

Exporting Woes!

MrSumOne

Hey everyone,

I'm a little new to Premiere, so I need a little help with this problem, and figure the answer should be pretty easy.

So we have this poor quality camera, but the footage we shot with it, when I look at it in Windows Media Player, it looks fine, in my timeline after editing it, it looks fine, but when I export it to ANY format, high or low quality, the video stutters, or is choppy. What am I doing wrong here? I've tried so many settings! Eventually I figure the video is going up on Youtube, so I tried that setting under H.264. It was choppy, so I tried a high quality AVI video, same thing! I've searching everywhere for an answer, and at first I thought that it was because I hadn't rendered the work area, but that didn't do anything.

Can anyone give me some advice here please?

• 1. Re: Exporting Woes!
          Ann Bens Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Need some more information: what type of camera is it, what format does it use, your project and export settings.

• 2. Re: Exporting Woes!
            Harm Millaard Level 7

General rule:

Use sequence settings that reflect what you shot in terms of resolution and framerate.

On exporting do not change field preference or interlaced to progressive. Use Dan Isaacs method for that.

SD is lower field first, HDV is upper field first.

If you can't figure out what you did wrong, tell us in a detailed way what was ingested, what sequence settings you use and precisely what you did on export, with all the settings.

• 3. Re: Exporting Woes!
              MrSumOne Level 1

See? I told you I was a newbie! But thanks a lot for helping out! Here's soem information you asked about:

The camera is a SC-X210L, and all the videos it records are in AVI format in 720 x 480

My progect format was regular DV NTSC Standard 48kHz

I have no idea what my frame rate is, is there a way to find that out?