13 Replies Latest reply on Sep 15, 2008 3:18 PM by r_josh4u

Page load on action

KManchikalapudi
      Hi,
      Am new to flex and I did not find any examples for the scenario...

Problem: I created login.mxml (using mx:Application component as root element) and dashboard.mxml (mx:Canvas as root element) pages. On login.mxml submit, i need to open dashboard.mxml and close login.mxml

I tried using 'PopUpManager.createPopUp(this, dashboard, true)' but it opens as popup instead in the same page.

I appreciate if someone can suggest me to fix.
        • 1. Re: Page load on action
          r_josh4u
          Hi,

I am also new to Flex and even I am having the same question. I tried using navigateToURL(url, "_self"); and it somehow worked .. is that the correct way of doing. Can someone please advice.

I appreciate for your answer.

Thanks,
          josh
          • 2. Re: Page load on action
            riesvantwisk Level 1
            First, there is never a absolute correct way of doing things in any programming language and design. So your method using navigateToURL could be awell good in your situation. Just make sure the servers session holds the data to know if a user was logged in or not and check that in your next swf.

I can tell you how I do it...

My main application is pretty much empty but I load additional functions using module loader- I do have a login module that get's loaded first. Then after a successful login I load one or more needed for the user to show.

Ries
            • 3. Re: Page load on action
              Level 7

"riesvantwisk" <webforumsuser@macromedia.com> wrote in message
              news:gakfht$2ag$1@forums.macromedia.com...
              > First, there is never a absolute correct way of doing things in any
              > programming
              > language and design. So your method using navigateToURL could be awell
              > good in