5 Replies Latest reply on May 6, 2009 5:03 AM by Mylenium

Layer styles & automation in AE CS4

elasater

I'm new to AE and having fun learning it. I have 25 title cards that I am creating, each has the same background with a photo & text that varies on each card, but the placement is the same. It would go a bit faster if I didn't have to apply the same layer styles, etc. over and over again.  I have a couple of questions...

1) Is it possible to save a layer style (much like in Photoshop) so that it can be reapplied to other elements in other compositions?

2) Is it possible to create a "template" composition that can be used as a starting point for others?  (Or a way to duplicate existing comps?)

Thank you...

• 1. Re: Layer styles & automation in AE CS4
          yenaphe Level 4

To duplicate a comp, select it in the project panel and hit ctrl-d (cmd-d if you are on a mac).

I encourage you to have a look at the Nesting & precomposing part of the AE docs, it full of stuff that might just be what you need for you exemple

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Layer styles & automation in AE CS4
            Todd_Kopriva Level 8

Yes, you can duplicate a composition.

Yes, you can create templates.

To reuse effects, layer styles, and other settings from one layer to another, consider saving and using animation presets.

1 person found this helpful
            • 3. Re: Layer styles & automation in AE CS4
              elasater Level 1

Thanks TONS!!!   This will save me so much time!

• 4. Re: Layer styles & automation in AE CS4
                Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP