4 Replies Latest reply on May 7, 2009 7:10 AM by Nadia-P

Illustrator -> Fireworks slice help

cre8nkos4u

Hi. I am putting together a website for a client that provided the design to me in Illustrator.  I just upgraded from CS1 to CS4, so I'm new to Fireworks and Dreamweaver.  Which way is the most efficient, making a 'template' with the heading and then putting body of the site in, or just slicing up each individual page (the header is the same for each page, other than the color of the button for the active page). 

Also, when I have an area that will be a 'button', should I create a slice, or insert a button symbol instead?  And if I make a slice, do I make it an html slice?  Also, with form content, should I make a slice over the form element and make it an html slice, or is there another way take care of that in Fireworks or dreamweaver?

Thanks for the help!

• 1. Re: Illustrator -> Fireworks slice help
          pixlor Level 4

It is more efficient to make a template and build your pages from there. To have a different color button for the active page, though, is trickier. Small sites usually don't change the look from page to page, large sites use multiple templates. You'll either need to break your template once the page is finished or do something very clever in JavaScript or CSS.

What do you mean by "when you have an area that is a 'button?'" Do you mean a part of your page's navigation or a form button? If it's a submit button you code it in Dreamweaver. It's possible to use an image as the input element, though. If you mean your site's navigation, then whether or not you want to use a FW button depends on what you want it to do.

Forms are built in Dreamweaver, not in Fireworks. Forms must be coded in HTML. Fireworks is a graphics program. While it can output some HTML, it is not robust and is good only for prototyping. Fireworks is not a magicial WYSIWYG Web page development program; you don't build pages in Fireworks.