3 Replies Latest reply on May 9, 2009 5:14 PM by Ned Murphy

Preloader scene causing problems with main movie scene

Mister.Tibbs

Hi

Hope someone can help as my knowledge of actionscript is limited at best.  I can get by and make nice flash sites, but I'm still learning what goes where and am still borrowing code to get by.  I've laid the problem out in some detail as I am sure that will save a lot of questions later on, but feel free to ask if you want more info.  Problem is as follows:

I've built a two scene flash site using open source code for the preloader scene:

myLoaded = Math.round(getBytesLoaded());

myTotal = Math.round(getBytesTotal());

myPercent = myLoaded/myTotal;

myBar._width = myPercent*150;

myText = Math.round(myPercent*100)+"%";

if (myLoaded == myTotal) {

gotoAndPlay("Home", 1);

(3);

} else {

gotoAndPlay(1);

}

I've also used open source for the scrolling menu in the main scene - this code for the scrolling menu sits in a timeline layer that covers the full stretch of the timeline.  It allows the user to click any button and move backwards or forwards along the timeline to a timeframe designated by the button pressed:

function Movement() {

if (_root._currentframe > _root.mytarget){

prevFrame();

}else if (_root._currentframe < _root.mytarget){

nextFrame();

}else{

stop();

}

}

this.onEnterFrame= Movement;

The buttons on the scrolling menu contain code like this:

on(Press){

_root.mytarget=21;

}