5 Replies Latest reply on May 10, 2009 6:42 PM by Ned Murphy

Buttons and Dropdown Menu Problem

redsand209 Level 1

I'm a bit new to action script, and I am having a small (hopefully easily solved) problem.

I'm creating a webpage, and I have made some buttons.

Image 1 is the homepage, which is frame 1 in Flash.

Image 2 shows that when I rollover the button "Portfolio," I get a dropdown menu.

I have this set as frame 3 in Flash.

Image 3 shows that I've gone down the dropdown menu and rolled over "Photography."

But if I rollout of any of the things from the dropdown menu, it stays at Image 2 (Frame 3)

with the dropdown menu visible. Which is a problem...

I want to be able to rollout of these buttons to revert back to the homepage, Image 1 (Frame 1).

But, for instance, telling "Graphic Design" to go to Frame 1 on rollout means that if I try to go below

"Graphic Design" to "Photography," I've rolled out--and so the rest of the menu disappears.

So I want to roll be able to select anything from the dropdown menu, and only rollout to Frame 1

if I go outside the entire dropdown menu, not just one button.

How do I do that?

• 1. Re: Buttons and Dropdown Menu Problem
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

What I usually end up doing in cases like this (which is seldom enough that someone else might have better options for you) is to have the submenu buttons include code that also act to hold out the submenu, so even though you rollout of the primary button, the submenu buttons catch it as a rollover and tells it to stay where it is.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Buttons and Dropdown Menu Problem
            redsand209 Level 1

Well no other posts into my inquiry yet--

so yes, that sounds like it would work.

how do i find that code?

and implement it?

• 3. Re: Buttons and Dropdown Menu Problem