12 Replies Latest reply on May 12, 2009 9:53 AM by sfjedi

Improved Brush Stroke Engine

sfjedi Level 1

Some people might call this a bug, but I wouldn't classify it as such because everything works as intended.

One weakness I've struggled with in both Adobe Photoshop AND Corel PHOTO-PAINT is the paint brush engine. That is, I would find the strokes to create this "skip rock" effect, for lack of a better explanation. As it works today, PS creates brush strokes with dab spacing. I might not know the correct terminology or exactly how it's working, but I can see with my own eyes how it's programmed. You get one dab here and you have to move your mouse or tablet pen a certain amount to get another dab.

I believe the Corel Painter engine for brush strokes would be beneficial to Photoshop as well. As a programmer, I also understand the limitation to such a stroke engine. That is, you would really need to complete a stroke before knowing exactly what it should look like. I think the way Painter handles it is the best solution I can think of. PS could just show brush strokes as they are currently until the user lets go of the mouse button or relieves pressure from the tablet pen. Then, the calculations could be made to produce a smoothe brush stroke, which looks pretty much exactly the same as what they saw in preview; only, without any side effects, splotchiness or "skip rock" crap.

Granted, if you can make it all work live that would be awesome! But I'm guessing the performance hit might be too extreme.

To illustrate what I'm talking about with this "skip rock" effect, pay very close attention to the image below, which is a screenshot of the Photoshop viewport. It's extremely subtle so you might have to look close or squint your eyes a little bit, but the brush stroke is flawed! No real-life brush stroke would EVER look like that!

skiprock.jpg

Actually, I can see it better when I look at it from a bit of a distance (2 feet) rather than close up.