5 Replies Latest reply on May 12, 2009 6:42 PM by heathrowe

Batch process

Fiona Hayward Level 1

Im new to using batch process and just trying to get my head around it.

If I have a folder full of images that are varying dimensions (also some are wider than high, some are higher than wide).

If I wanted to make whichever is the smallest dimension a particular size for all the images in the folder, bearing in mind that will vary between being the width

or the height), is there a way to do this in batch process , or a command or something?

If I have a folder full of images named eg 'DWP wedding photos(1).jpg' and 'DWP wedding photos(2).jpg' etc

is there a way I can batch change the image names to something like 'wedding_sm1.jpg' 'wedding_sm2.jpg' etc?

Any help appreciated

• 1. Re: Batch process
          heathrowe Most Valuable Participant

For the scale irrespective of the portrait/landscape orientation, use the File > Batch Process > Scale > Scale to Percentage.

For the renaming, also explore in the same location. File > Batch Process > Rename. However, as per your desired end result I cannot see a method of providing an easy 'sequential' numeric to the rename.

Alternatively, you can use Adobe Bridge to better refine the Rename.

Open Bridge > Tools . Batch Rename, one of the options is to allow to 'Sequential' numbering or letters.

Note: If your uncertain of these methods be sure to test on copies of the originals, just in case

• 2. Re: Batch process
            Fiona Hayward Level 1

Hi Heath

Thanks for that, I will experiment with Bridge.

As for the scaling, Im not sure I see what you mean.  If all the images were a different size, and I wanted the whichever was the larger measurement to be, say, 700px, how would scale to % work?

• 3. Re: Batch process

Since all your image dimesions are different, using a fixed pixel change will distort. Unless you know all the images are the same w/h then changing the scale factor in pixels should be fine.