19 Replies Latest reply on May 13, 2009 4:57 PM by Jim_Simon Branched to a new discussion.

Mystified: Problem previewing and adding some avi files from same source

karlakraus@yahoo.com

I am on a pc, use Windows XP Pro SP 3, and  have a 150 gig hard drive with 3.25 gigs ram.  I am just getting started in Premiere Pro and decided to create a test file and try out various things.

I shot about a dozen avi files with a Nikon D-90 and tried previewing and adding a number of them; all are in the same folder.  One was previewed in Premiere Pro and played just fine, and and then was dragged in and played just fine, but only the audio of the others in the folder played both in preview and when dragged in.

What can possibly be the problem?

I looked at the various specs, and I don't see any difference.

Best & thanks,

Karla

• 1. Re: Mystified: Problem previewing and adding some avi files from same source
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Karla,

Your camera produces MJPEG AV files. Normally, all one has to do to get these to function adequately in PrPro is install the Morgan, or MainConcept MJPEG CODEC. They are not the ideal format, but usually work with one of those CODEC's. Now, because one of these Imports and plays fine in PrPro, *seems* to indicate that you have an MJPEG CODEC. That the others do not, is curious.

First, download and install G-Spot. When you start it, it'll survey your system for properly installed CODEC's. Then, drag the file, that does Import and play properly into G-Spot. Look at the info, that the program will generate. Make notes, or better yet, a screen-cap of this files info. Next, try one of the ones, that does not work in PrPro. Do another screen-cap, or take notes. Is there a difference, other than the Duration of these two files? If you made notes, post those. If you made screen-caps, post those. Please indicate which file is the one that played, and which one is the one that did not.