6 Replies Latest reply on May 13, 2009 12:50 PM by bilbob7624

memory problem with after effects... help!

bilbob7624

hello,

i am having a strange issue where my pc will lock up after i minimize After Effects and try to access the file (quicktime, wmv, etc...) i just created. i am new to AE but i'm sure this isn't normal.

any help here would be greatly appreciated.

bilbob7624

• 1. Re: memory problem with after effects... help!
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

Are you sure you are not trying to access the file when rendering isn't yet finished? Aprt from that: What are your system specs? What version of AE? Composition and render settings?

Mylenium

• 2. Re: memory problem with after effects... help!
            bilbob7624 Level 1

Mylenium

thanks for the response,

i'm not too computer savy so please bare with me :-) as i try and describe things

well i assume the render is finished when AE's signal goes off and it says it's completed in the que.

what happens is when if finishes i go to the file and double-click. it then pauses/locksup the system for about 10-20 sec. and then let's me play the file.

sometimes it tells me it nees to "change the virtual memory paging file size". which is currently 2046/4092.

the specs on my system are:

Memory -  OCZ DDR3 Maximum Memory Module Size 4096 MB

Graphics Card - PNY Quadro FX 3800 1024 MB PCI-E 2.0

thanks,

i hope this is the info you were looking for.

• 3. Re: memory problem with after effects... help!