7 Replies Latest reply on May 14, 2009 5:43 PM by Ned Murphy

start timeline when I click button

Spalding H Level 1

I'm new to flash, and I need a little help getting started. I have used the actions panel to write a stop code on frame one of my timeline.When I test my movie it stays on the home page, which is good! I have also created an 'enter site' button on the home page. I want to click this button and have the timeline start rolling over to frame 50 (where my next label 'contents' will be). At frame 50 I want it to stop, and so on for all of my labels/pages. The action taking place on the timeline is a pan across a panoramic photograph, which will stop at different points.

cheers,

Spaldo

• 1. Re: start timeline when I click button
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Code your button to play();  If you don't know how to code a button yet, indicate which version of actionscript you are using and an example can be provided (or someone can take the time to explain all the possibilities)

• 2. Re: start timeline when I click button
            Spalding H Level 1

Thanks Ned.

I haven't learned to code buttons yet. I looked in the help menu for some codes, but I found it

confusing. If anyone could show me a good place to find tutorials on coding buttons, I would be

grateful.

S

• 3. Re: start timeline when I click button

All's I need to know is what version of actionscript you plan to be using and I'll provide you a quick solution, possibly an explanation too.  If you don't know what version of AS you're using, check the Flash section of your Publish Settings.  If you don't know where your Publish Settings are, find them via the File option on the main toolbar.... and if it took telling you all that to get there... you oughta spend some time digging around the menu options of Flash and learn what's where and stuff.  The Help documents can be really handy as well.

• 4. Re: start timeline when I click button