5 Replies Latest reply on May 16, 2009 5:49 AM by Ned Murphy

Mouse over flicker problem

Winginsue Level 1

I'm fairly new to Flash and couldn't find the exact same problem in the forums so here goes.

Flash CS4, Actionscript 3.0

I have a button that I have a mouseover event making another button appear (thus making it look like a color change).  It flickers like crazy with the mouse over.  Any suggestions?

Here's the page (mind you nothing on it but this so far) http://www.forepointusa.com/flash/qbooks/keyfeatures.html

Here's the code: (IT is the button you see when you first look at the file.)

import fl.transitions.Tween;
      import fl.transitions.easing.*;

ITBlue.alpha = 0;
      ITBlue.y = 130;

IT.addEventListener(MouseEvent.MOUSE_OVER,showIT);
      IT.addEventListener(MouseEvent.MOUSE_OUT,hideIT);

function showIT(e:MouseEvent):void {
      ITBlue.y = 172.3;
      ITBlue.alpha = 100;
      }
      function hideIT(e:MouseEvent):void {
      ITBlue.alpha = 0;
      ITBlue.y = 130;
      }

Any suggestions are appreciated.

• 1. Re: Mouse over flicker problem
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Is there a reason you don't use the one IT button and just use its Over frame to display it as blue?

Note: in AS3, alpha ranges from 0 to 1 (not 100).

To explain why you have what you have... I am assuming ITBlue is another button.  When you put ITBlue in front of IT you essentially block IT from the mouse, so you ignite IT's rollout function, sending ITBlue back out of the way, which ignites IT's rollover function again, and the cycle goes on unending.  If you hover just on the lower edge of IT, where ITBlue doesn't reach, you'll see it works as desired.

The simplest way around this is to use the one button approach, as there will be no code needed for the rollover and rollout for what you have it doing now.