12 Replies Latest reply on May 19, 2009 8:54 PM by Eric S 1

PP CS3 HD Transcoding tips for DVD?

Eric S 1 Level 3

Hi folks,

I'm a long-time Audition user, but I'm a relative newbie to Premiere Pro, CS3.

I have a final cut on a 90-minute project.  It's ready for transcoding.  I've been going through some different transcoding options but I haven't hit upon a good combination - all the tests so far appear to have too much video compression, which appears as a kind of vertical interlacing.

The footage was shot and imported as DVCPROHD 720P 23.97fps.  There is no effects on the footage itself in the edit (it's a single lockdown shot for archival purposes but I added titles and credits to the heads and tails) - no color correction, gamma changes, time changes, etc.

When doing my transcoding tests I start with an appropriate preset.  If that doesn't look great then I'll adjust certain things (usually bitrate values and quality settings) and do another test.  So far the results are still the same - the compression is apparent.

During this process I've learned quite a bit about the limitations of standard DVDs and some stuff about transcoding (such as maximum bitrate should be about 7) but I'm still wandering in the woods when it comes to transcoding settings and adjustments.  So I'm looking for some tips on transcoding settings that will get me some decent results.

I haven't yet changed fps settings to see if it makes a difference.  That will probably be tomorrow's focus.

In the DVD protocol, is there a standard fps?  Can I transcode the footage to MPEG with a 23.97 fps rather than having to change it to 29.97 or 59.97?

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

• 1. Re: PP CS3 HD Transcoding tips for DVD?
          Eddie Lotter Level 4

Yes, DVD has very specific settings.

See Resource:Adobe DVD Primer for the information you need.

Cheers
          Eddie

• 2. Re: PP CS3 HD Transcoding tips for DVD?
            Jeff Bellune Adobe Community Professional