11 Replies Latest reply on May 28, 2009 9:53 AM by Harm Millaard

Flickering video... PLEASE HELP... getting suicidal here

Igor Brnja

Hello,

I have been editing my wedding video in Premiere CS4 for around 4 months now. First I worked with CS3, it crashed a lot (all sorts of unknown reasons) and after I got CS4 it is all bread and butter from there.... until now.

My video is finished and I need to export it to Encore so I can make menus. After I made menus and linked them and so on i exported it to DVD without any encoding because Premiere made them before. I was so happy when I made the DVD, until I played it (on PC, on DVD player, on another DVD player...) and saw very flickering video whether the camera moves or the participants in the video move.

Premiere and Encore are great programs and I am fully satisfied with them but I am trying to encode my finished video and cannot do that.

I have been surfing throughout Internet for over 2 months now, looking in forums, trying all sorts of things, downloading codecs and so on but nothing helps.

I must mention one important thing: In Premiere I have two video formats : VOB (imported .avs and .wav that i made in MeGui, got all AVS plugins and Avisynth) and standard AVI files. When I make the encoding process I explained before, only the parts in which are VOB files are flickering and the parts where are AVI files are normal. How to fix this!?

Can anybody PLEASE help me.... I would be very thankful

Sincerly

Igor Brnja

• 1. Re: Flickering video... PLEASE HELP... getting suicidal here
          Harm Millaard Level 7

Details are severely lacking here. Details on the codecs used, the sequence settings, interlaced or progressive, export settings, encoding settings, etc.

First guess is field reversal. If you start with DV material, use lower field first and keep it like that all the way, including the encoding to DVD. Do not deinterlace.

• 2. Re: Flickering video... PLEASE HELP... getting suicidal here