5 Replies Latest reply on May 16, 2009 11:02 AM by clbeech

as2.0 help,Is there a equivalent to Lingo PASS in actionscript2.0?

cuixin2009

I'm new to flash,and I'm using actionscript2.0,I use Lingo before.

In lingo. the Pass Command passes an event message to the next location

in the message hierarchy and enables execution of more than one handler for a given event.

My question is:

I have a movieClip, and there is some button in the movie clip,I put the movie clip into the timeline,

it works well,but when I attach a rollOver event handler to the movie clip, the buttons don't work.

I think the movieclip's rollover event handler blocked the mouse message.

so is there a actionscript2.0 command just like the Pass lingo command,

to let the mouse message goto inside the movie clip?

my movie clip all_mc is like this:

in all_mc, I attached:

on(rollOut){
        trace("roll out");
      }

and in all_mc there is a button,red_btn

in red_btn, I attached

on(press){
      trace("red pressed");
      }

when I tested the movie the on(press) does'nt work

when I delete the on(rollOut) ,the on(press) works

why? how can I get them work together?

• 1. Re: as2.0 help,Is there a equivalent to Lingo PASS in actionscript2.0?
          clbeech Level 3

this is an old problem in AS2 - handlers assigned to 'children' of a parent that also has a handler, will not receive event notifications.  there are a few tricks to get around this, depending on the situation.  the most common is to use a hitTest for the child objects rather than assigning handlers - so in your parent all_mc use an onPress handler, within the handler run a hitTest to check for a click on the button instance, if true, then perform the button's response action.  so something like this:

//in all_mc

on(rollOut) {

trace('roll out');

}

on(press) {

if(red_btn.hitTest(_xmouse, _ymouse, false)) trace('red button');

}