1 2 Previous Next 40 Replies Latest reply on Jun 8, 2009 5:54 AM by kglad

targeting sections when playing timeline

Spalding H

Hi, first of all thanks for all the help I've had to date. Special thanks to kglad and Ned Murphy.

I'm new to flash (CS4) and I'm building my first full flash website. Actionscript 3.0 is the code I'm using. The site has 6 pages: home, contents, contact, about, showreel, corporate. I have a panoramic photograph as a background across all my pages. When a button, such as contact, is clicked the timeline is enabled and scrolls across the panoramic to the 'contact' area of the photograph. I have a few questions relating to how I can achieve this.

1.) On my actions layer I have this code on frame one:

stop();

enter_site_btn.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, buttonCLicked);

function buttonClicked (event:MouseEvent):void
      {
      play();
      }

So when you mouseClick the timeline plays and goes to the next stop point on the timeline which is the contents section. On the contents page are the buttons which lead to the other sections. So far I have this code:

stop();

about.btn.addEventListener (MouseEvent.CLICK,buttonCLicked)

corporate.btn.addEventListener (MouseEvent.CLICK,buttonCLicked)

showreel.btn.addEventListener (MouseEvent.CLICK,buttonCLicked)

contact.btn.addEventListener (MouseEvent.CLICK,buttonCLicked)

Each of the buttons work, but I want the timeline to play and go to the page which corresponds to the button which is clicked, not just to play the timeline until the next stop point. Is there a code which would enable the timeline to play and go to the correct section, and not just roll without a target?