9 Replies Latest reply on May 21, 2009 6:30 AM by Frédéric Leclair

ProspectHD - AE CS4 gets error (0 :: 42) on startup

Frédéric Leclair Level 1
      I tried installing ProspectHD trial with After Effects CS4 and I got (0 :: 42) error at opening after having working only once with it.

I searched web for code and forums and it said it`s preferences, OpenGL or pluggins.

I have desinstalled ProspectHD trial and fixed problem.

I`d like to know before buying if this (0 :: 42) bug is known and if it occurs often ?

I'm under Windows Vista 64-bit on a PC.
        • 1. Re: ProspectHD - AE CS4 gets error (0 :: 42) on startup
          Adolfo Rozenfeld Adobe Employee

The 0::42 error message is very generic. I would contact the developer and ask if an updated version for CS4 is or will be available. Apparently, version 4.01 is out for this purpose? I have no experience with this product, though.

• 2. Re: ProspectHD - AE CS4 gets error (0 :: 42) on startup
            Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

It's most likely an issue in the CoDec itself. The Cineform stuff can be rather touchy. When IO had to download the CoDecs (as demos) to view some files in the past, I had nothing but crashes in CS3 and CS4, but they worked perfectly in 6.5. So probably it's a resource problem with MediaCore vs. Cineform. In any case - they should know abouts such things and may have some tips regarding configuring the Codecs to run safely or an update/ patch, that may resolve the issue, but has not yet been rolled into the demo.

Mylenium

• 3. Re: ProspectHD - AE CS4 gets error (0 :: 42) on startup
              Frédéric Leclair Level 1

The trial version is supposed to be exact same thing as current build, but we'll soon know I bought ProspectHD so I'll post about my experience...

Regarding new update from ADOBE; I know they are supposed to release a mega update for Premiere Pro CS4, due anytime after NAB ended, might be be they will release one for AE too.