12 Replies Latest reply on May 26, 2009 7:46 AM by kglad

Double-sized pop-ups?

icklegemma Level 1

I'm very new to Flash so apologies if this is a daft question - I've had look around other sites but cannot find anything specific to my question...

Basically I need to add a new feature in Flash where I add another button which launches the player in a separate window and plays the file back – at let’s say twice the size – not full screen. Attached is screenshot of what it should look like.

I could really use some help with this - I don't have a clue where to start as I've only dealt with relatively easy fixes before

• 1. Re: Double-sized pop-ups?
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

you can use getURL() (as2) or navigateToURL() (as3) to call the javascript window.open() method with the window size you want and targeting a html file that embeds a double sized flv screen.  you'll then need to use localconnection to communicate the duration of the flv in the original and navigate to that location when you start the popups flv.

this is not going to look good unless you do something to ensure the flv is cached so the popup can retrieve the flv from the cache.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Double-sized pop-ups?
            icklegemma Level 1

OK that's helpful but I could really do with some examples of the code to get me going if that's ok?

(I really am new to this!!)

Thanks

• 3. Re: Double-sized pop-ups?
              icklegemma Level 1

Hello,

I've had a bash at the code but it's not working...

At the moment I have put in a layer (called Double Size) and button to do this, then got on the 'Actions- Frame' panel and put in the following AS code behind that button:

navigatetoURL('www.testing.com');

But when I try it everything goes a bit mad - can someone please give me a 'Dummies guide to flash' explanation?!

Thanks!

• 4. Re: Double-sized pop-ups?

you're using as3: