21 Replies Latest reply on Oct 30, 2009 10:03 AM by Jim_Simon

imported avi not playing right..acts like still image

browndrake2

I am very new to premiere.  I am currently using the 30 day trial.

My brother supplied several clips and asked me to edit them.  They were in mpg format.   I converted them to avi with Super, so that premiere would import them.  All worked well and I finished compiling/editing it all.

The problem began when I my computer got problems and I had to reformat.  I backed up all of my files (I thought) and then reformated my computer, reinstalled premiere and opened the project file.

In acutality, I had backuped up the source files..mpgs and not the converted or avi files.  Now, I am trying to reconvert the source files and re import them.  However, I do not remember the settings that I used and can not get the video to import right.  The avi play wonderfully, outside of premiere, but upon import, 30-40 seconds of video will display as one or two still images.  The audio plays without problem, but not the video.

I have tried several different settings and codecs for encoding and come up with the same problem.

(yes, I have learned many important lessons...)

What I don't understand is how everything went so flawlessly the first go round and now I can not get any of my videos to import/play correctly.

I had googled myself crazy coming up with the proper settings/codecs to use but can not find the references I used the first time.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.  The video is of my grandfather's funeral, for some family members that were out of the country at the time.

Thanks

aaron

• 1. Re: imported avi not playing right..acts like still image
          the_wine_snob Level 9