7 Replies Latest reply on May 23, 2009 12:18 PM by kglad

Am I Not Publishing Correctly?

projectu Level 1
      Okay I'm brand new to flash, I purchased a premade flash movie, where all I had to do was edit the config.xml file and add my own images to the source folder and this would change the images in the flash movie, the text, etc.
      So I have Flash open, and I "Open Project" and I open my folder called SOURCE and all my files are in there, my .fla, .swf, .xml, files along with image files. When I click on Test Project it looks beautiful, works perfect. But when I PUBLISH which sends the published file to that same folder and I copy the entire folder onto my web server and insert the flash movie onto my webapge it comes up blank, just black screen.

Do you guys have any idea why? Is it possible I'm not incorporating the flash movie into the website correctly? Or maybe I didn't publish it correctly? I've attached a zip file which contains my source folder and all files. What's killing me is that it functions perfect inside the Flash program when I test it, but I can't get that result on my website.
      This video is for a non profit website, so it's pretty urgent I figure this out asap. Thank you very much for your help.
        • 1. Re: Am I Not Publishing Correctly?
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

the most common problem with be a changed path from the embedding html file to the xml and/or image files.  the second most common problem with be a file name typo.  eg, myfile.xml is used in the swf's actionscript to load the xml file and the xml file name is really myfile.XML.

• 2. Re: Am I Not Publishing Correctly?
            AttaBoy2 Level 3

when you upload to the web server are you uploading as binary or text?

• 3. Re: Am I Not Publishing Correctly?
              projectu Level 1