7 Replies Latest reply on May 25, 2009 6:57 AM by the_wine_snob

Allowed codecs for import?

eisstern

Hello,

I'm new to PE 7 and I'm having some problems with the import of a video. I captured it with the program FRAPS (FPS1 codec) which I know is not supported for import. But when I search the manual, there only is a list of allowed filetypes for import, but not the codecs.

I'm looking for a lossless codec that PE 7 can handle. Does anyone know?

• 1. Re: Allowed codecs for import?
          the_wine_snob Level 9

CODEC's and info on all, could fill a very large book. Also, much is changing at a very rapid pace.

Now, to help you specifically, PE (like Adobe's other NLE program, PrPro) is designed around a DV-AVI Type II workflow. This means that it is most comfortable with these, using the DV CODEC. Also, it works best with Audio in the PCM/WAV format, with a 48KHz sample rate, and 16-bit bit-depth. This is obviously for SD material. Since PE7, fairly direct support for pure AVCHD HD material was added. Realize that even knowing a particular CODEC might not tell the full story. There are variations on many, with new variations coming all of the time.

Back to your specific use and need: you will ALWAYS be better off, if you convert your material to DV-AVI Type II w/ PCM/WAV 48KHz 16-bit Audio, BEFORE you Import. PE will attempt to convert other formats/CODEC's to that, if it can. Should one have the proper CODEC's (can be totally different for the Video content and the Audio content if the file is multiplexed, i.e. containing both an Audio and a Video stream in a single file.