7 Replies Latest reply on May 25, 2009 3:55 PM by windowman

Making a PAL format DVD

windowman Level 1

I want to send some DVD footage that was shot in NTSC miniDV format to a friend in Australia to view on his PAL TV. Is it as simple as bringing the NTSC DV footage into my mpg converter and using the PAL settings there to make a DVD for him? Or do I need to convert the DV footage to PAL from Premiere during the export first? Doing the latter doesn't make much sense to me, but I've never done this before, so I thought I'd better ask someone who has first.

Thanks

• 1. Re: Making a PAL format DVD
          Jim_Simon Level 8

I'd just send him the current DVD and see what happens.  There's a good chance his PAL equipment wil play the NTSC disk.

• 2. Re: Making a PAL format DVD
            windowman Level 1

Really? I haven't been reading the trades much the past year or two and had no idea they were making set-top DVD players that would playback both NTSC and PAL now.

Edited to ask if maybe you thought I was referring to someone in Australia putting the DVD into their computer's DVD player? I realize those will generally playback anything, but this is for a regular TV DVD player--not a computer.

• 3. Re: Making a PAL format DVD
              Harm Millaard Level 7

Set top players in PAL countries ALSO play NTSC. Not just computer DVD players, but all DVD players.

• 4. Re: Making a PAL format DVD
                windowman Level 1

Thanks,

Is this true for older players too, or just more recent ones?

• 5. Re: Making a PAL format DVD
                  Harm Millaard Level 7

I live in PAL country and even on my oldest DVD player, a Panasonic DVD-A350 from before the turn of the century (IIRC) it plays NTSC without problems.

• 6. Re: Making a PAL format DVD
                    Dag Norum Level 2

When it comes to digital equipment, it should be no reason for not playing both PAL and NTSC (could be a programmed lock of course).