5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 25, 2008 12:57 PM by Reggy_01

How do I make custom gap-fill component?

Reggy_01
      I am trying to write a custom component for a gap-fill exercise. There could be several sentences in the exercise with multiple gaps - something that looks like this:

London is the ________ and largest urban area in the _____________. An important settlement for two millennia, London's history goes back to its founding by the ___________.

The component should be 'generic' as the data will be fed from a database. I was wandering if someone could give me some pointers to an existing solution or clues how to approach this.

Although I have got a fair amount of server-side experience (java) this is my first attempt to write something that is 'displayed on screen' and any help will be greatly appreciated.
        • 1. Re: How do I make custom gap-fill component?
          ntsiii Level 3
          I am not quite sure what you are trying to display. "gap-fill" does not mean anything specific to me. What does the data look like, and what are the rules for building the string?

Are you expecting any interactivity?

Tracy
          • 2. Re: How do I make custom gap-fill component?
            Reggy_01 Level 1
            Hi Tracy,
            The purpose of this component is to test knowledge of a student on a given subject - in the above example it would be history. The student is given a piece of text with missing words in it. He/she has to fill in (type in this case) the missing words - hence this kind of test is called gap-fill.

The component must be able to display text with 'floating' gaps within the text. These gaps would have similar behaviour to TextInput control. Once the student submits the answer the component will return the words that were typed in and these are then compared against the expected answers.