5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 3, 2009 1:28 PM by Dennis48755

Validate 2 E-mail address fields in insert record form

Dennis48755 Level 1

Hello,

I have used the Insert Record Form Wizard to create a form, including using the Validate Form Server Behavior to validate many fields.

I can't figure out how to compare & validate 2 E-mail address fields.

After the form was created I opened the existing Validate Form Server Behavior - Advanced tab and built the condition {sub_email2} != {sub_email} but this had no affect on submitting the form.

The other thing I tried was creating a new Compare Transaction Field behavior with the same condition {sub_email2} != {sub_email}, this also seemed to have no affect.

I am just a beginner, so I admit to not really knowing what I'm doing, for me ADDT has been a great aid.

The other thing I noticed, when I tried both the items above, besides not affecting being able to submit the form with different E-mail addresses. The red asterisks indicating a required field, would disappear.

Here is the form http://www.oescahealthregistry.org/forms/pedigree_submission.php this version of the form does NOT include either of my attempts to validate the E-mail fields.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Dennis

• 1. Re: Validate 2 E-mail address fields in insert record form
          zzipper7

If I understand your issue, the validation is perfomed by each feild name that looks like this :

$formValidation->addField("Last_Name", true, "text", "", "", "", "");

so each email needs its own form and seperate name Ex email1 email2

If you are trying to put multiple emails in one feild...you are going to have to make something custom.

Comparing them will also have to be custom, though it sounds similar to a login function, you are wanting to perform this comparison prior to insert, that makes it custom.

This is a good question for Gunter..he knows the software very well, there might be a function, mask or something that could be modified.