22 Replies Latest reply on Jun 22, 2009 8:28 AM by brandonspeed

Drag & Drop Problem

brandonspeed

Hiya -

Im still new to Flash and need some urgent help (picture attached).

This will probably seem like a basic problem to a Flash guru but if anybody has the answer I'd appreciate it greatly as Im stumped!

I have an image that has been converted to a MC and is on Frame 1. On the MC image I have placed the following basic code:

on(press){

startDrag(this);

}

on(release){

stopDrag();

}

I have also set frame 1 to stop.

Right, so that WORKS perfectly fine. But the problem is that I have a MC in the corner of this MC image (and it basically serves as a 'zoom' button') and this opens another set of frames when clicked on but I cant seem to get this new MC' actionscript to work AND 'drag and drop' with the MC below it. I only seem to be able to get the MC (zoom button) to work if its on its own.

How can I get a MC with actionscript  to work on top of another MC? And drag and drop both together in their exact corresponding positions?

Help appreciated!

B

• 1. Re: Drag & Drop Problem
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

If I understand the scenario, what you can do is put both of those things into another movieclip.  You will still code the image mc, but you will code it to drag the parent movieclip.  That way, both pieces wthin the containing mc will have clear access to the mouse and both will be moved together.

on(press){

startDrag(this._parent);

}

• 2. Re: Drag & Drop Problem
            brandonspeed Level 1

Hi - thanks for the response.

I have spent about an hour trying to get your suggestion to work - Im about half way there - both the movie clips are now joined into a parent movie clip and drag together which is great  - unfortunately however the problem now is that the action script in the corner zoom movie clip (which is now inside the parent movie clip) does not work at all.

The parent movie clip AS is set to: 

on(press){