11 Replies Latest reply on May 29, 2009 6:12 AM by Peru Bob

Not a technical question just a poll on transitions for slides

hnester

I'm curious, if you were building a slide show dvd with transitions between still slides and you were using Prmiere Elements....what are your favorite transitions, which ones do you use together, and why?

I'm self taught and I'd like to get some opinions. Are you a basic page peel kind of guy/girl? Do you like disolves only? How many different transitions would you use in a 30 slide show and which ones do you think go well together?

Thanks for playing along!

Holly

• 1. Re: Not a technical question just a poll on transitions for slides
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Holly,

I'll "play along." I come from a cine background, so 99.9% of what is available was not there, when I began many decades ago. However, the But-cut, the Dip-to-Black (was called Fade-to-Black way back then) and the Cross-Dissolve are my favs, and are the ones that I use mostly. Obviously, a Butt-cut will not work well in a SlideShow for obvious reasons. Way back when, I paid several thousand dollars (1970's $'s) for a Leica slide projector that featured dual trays and would do Lap-Dissolves between the slides. Later, I learned to program up to 24 projectors to do special visual tricks with slides, that were produced specifically for their placement in the SlideShow. This sets MY stage.