6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 3, 2009 10:21 PM by scid sam

SHA as an option for hashes

scid sam

I am new to the Lightroom SDK and I am working on a upload plugin for a service that requires passwords to be submitted in sha-1 hash.  I see that there is a LrMD5 hashing available, is there any plans to add other hashing options (like sha-1, sha-2, etc).  If not does anyone have a lua implementation of it that would work in the sdk?

thanks

sdevore

• 1. Re: SHA as an option for hashes
          DawMatt Level 3

scid sam wrote:

is there any plans to add other hashing options (like sha-1, sha-2, etc).  If not does anyone have a lua implementation of it that would work in the sdk?

Hi Sdevore,

I suggest you raise a feature request to register your interest in this feature.  My guess is they aren't working on this so unless you request it you might not find this even in LR3's SDK.  If they were going to proactively work on additional hash types I would have expected the namespace to be LrHash or similar rather than LrMD5.

Can only suggest you Google for an LUA implementation of SHA-1 and give it a go.  You might need to do some hacking of the code because not all standard LUA functions are available in Lightroom.  Haven't heard of anyone else trying to use alternate hashes in Lightroom.

Matt

• 2. Re: SHA as an option for hashes
            DawMatt Level 3

scid sam wrote:

I am new to the Lightroom SDK and I am working on a upload plugin for a service that requires passwords to be submitted in sha-1 hash.  I see that there is a LrMD5 hashing available, is there any plans to add other hashing options (like sha-1, sha-2, etc).  If not does anyone have a lua implementation of it that would work in the sdk?

I guess Jeffrey heard you!  The plugin development maestro just posted this today: http://regex.info/blog/lua/sha1