4 Replies Latest reply on May 30, 2009 5:21 AM by yenaphe

Exporting multiple comps? - Probably easy to answer

SorenJulies Level 1

Hi all.

I am not that experienced in After Effects so this is maybe easy to answer.

I wan't to make a long movie with multiple scenes. I don't want to make all the scenes in a single timeline (too confusing) so I make each scene as a composition in the same project. But when I try to export, I can only export a single composition in the project and not all the compositions in order. Is it true then that I have to export all the compositions in After Effects and then put them together into a single film in Premiere? Or is there a way to export all the compositions as a single film in After Effects?

It's quite important that the aspect ratio, pixel size and PAL is right, so if I can avoid putting my work into another program, I would like to. I am afraid that Premiere might change the aspect ratio or something like that. But this is maybe the way to do it?

Thanks a lot!

• 1. Re: Exporting multiple comps? - Probably easy to answer
          A. Cobb Level 3

Two things:

1) Make sure you are using the Render Queue to render your comps, and not Export.

2) You can use your comps as layers in another comp, which will allow you edit your piece together entirely in AE is you so desire.  AE isn't necessarily the most elegant tool for this purpose, but it is capable of doing the job.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Exporting multiple comps? - Probably easy to answer
            yenaphe Level 4

Select all your compositions in the Project panel. Then drag & drop them on the "new composition icon" or go to "File > new comp from selection".

In the popup dialog, select "Single Composition", check "Sequence layer" (do not check Overlap), and you can check "add to render queue" so when you clic "ok" you will be directly taken to your render queue.

Hope that helps,

Seb