9 Replies Latest reply on May 30, 2009 12:22 PM by Ned Murphy

Understanding the basics

ehcarleton

You know you are in trouble when you cannot complete step #2 of a tutorial.  The good news is I understand all the AS3 code, I am a programmer by trade.

The tutorial in question is Build a Dynamic Flash Gallery with Slider Controland I am stuck on creating the movies in step 2.  I did go through a more basic tutorial on Adobe's web site and know that I can turn a tool, like the rectangler tool, into a Movie Clip.  But I don't know exactly how the author got to the screens shown in step 2.  Did he create that from the Rectangler Tool or did he do something else?

While I wait an answer to this very basic question, I am going to be going through more tutorials from this page, thanks!

Sam

• 1. Re: Understanding the basics
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

We all learn our own ways of doing things, so I'll share what I'd do... Draw the two shapes involved for the slider control separately (see step 4, use rounded corners if you care about it looking rounded).  Select one of the shapes you just drew and choose from the following... 1) right click it->select Convert To Symbol OR 2) click F8 OR 3) select Modify -> Convert To Symbol.  That interface you can't find should be there now.

Be wary of just about any Flash tutorial... there's tons of them out there, but not tons of people who know how to create them well.  I'm not trying to put this one down, but step 2 would have had me perplexed wondering what a slider and a handle were if I didn't know from experience.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Understanding the basics
            ehcarleton Level 1

Thank you!

• 3. Re: Understanding the basics
              Michael Borbor Level 4

Download the source files and see what this guy is meaning with the step 2

• 4. Re: Understanding the basics
                ehcarleton Level 1