3 Replies Latest reply on Jun 1, 2009 5:38 AM by Harkonenn

Is there a pratical size limit for an Air application window?

Harkonenn

I'm brand new to creating Air applications. I started to design a utility in Flash CS4 for my own use. I had originally intended for it to be a simple SWF, but decided to make an Air app as an experiment, and to perhaps share it with others in the future.

Basically, the application allows the use to drag-resize a box to measure the pixel dimensions of an area onscreen (photo, Windows window, etc.) I wanted to allow it to be resized to any dimensions up to the size of the screen. The chrome is custom and mostly transparent with some alpha for the box to overlay on whatever you're measuring. However, I've run into a few problems, the primary one being that I cannot set the app to run maximized to the screen size and allow any graphics to extend beyond the dimensions of the stage in the source FLA (it all gets clipped at the edges of the stage). I decided to forget about this and just set a maximum size of the stage. So, what was originally a box that you could stretch out to any dimensions, can now only be resized to the upper limit I set (preferrably 1600px X 900px).

Annoyingly, I've found that any stage size in the source FLA beyond 1500px X 850px causes the Air app to respond very slowly. At sizes below that, the app responds very quickly, as if it were a windowed SWF. My question is, is there a practical upper limit to the size of an Air app window? I mean, if I have an Air app with a window size of 1500px X 850px that can be resized without any perceived lag, why does the window resizing slow down so dramatically by just increasing those dimensions by 1px?

• 1. Re: Is there a pratical size limit for an Air application window?
          Harkonenn Level 1