21 Replies Latest reply on Jul 30, 2009 8:41 PM by Jim_Simon

Combining two video feeds into one

Badmuts001

Hello,

I have a question. I am completely new to CS4 so sorry if the question is silly or has been asked before.

I am going to film with 2 HDV (Sony HXR-MC1P HD Mini Camera System) camera's soon , that will produce two seperate video streams.

I would like to combine those 2 HDV quality streams to 1 stream and make the 2 feeds as a left and right panel combined to 1 stream, off course with no quality loss.

Is that possible in CS4, and how is that done ?

I hope you can guide me in the right direction.

regards Chris

• 1. Re: Combining two video feeds into one
          Harm Millaard Level 7

Capture the video from both cameras. Let's say you put everything from camera 1 on track 1 and everything from camera 2 on track 2. You then use the motion effect to scale and position the clips from track 1 where you want them (say the left side) and repeat that for track 2, but then put it on the right side.

• 2. Re: Combining two video feeds into one
            Badmuts001 Level 1

Hello Harm Goedenavond,

Aha, so i need the motion effect, that's a good advice, i will experiment with that.

Thanks for the quick answer.

best regards,

Chris

• 3. Re: Combining two video feeds into one
              the_wine_snob Level 9

Depending on the framing of the images in the two cameras, you might also find that the Crop Effect will help you in addition to Harm's suggestion to use Motion>Scale and Position. You will most likely apply this to the Clip on Video Track 2.

Note: with these Effects, you will have a straight hard edge between the two Clips.

i will experiment with that.