3 Replies Latest reply on Jun 1, 2009 10:22 AM by Kroycom

SSD hard drive with NLE anyone ???

Frédéric Leclair

Hi, I wondered if anyone has tested SSD flash drives and could talk about if it's worth it or not, increases speed signifiquantly or ...

Thank you.

• 1. Re: SSD hard drive with NLE anyone ???
          Harm Millaard Level 7

I have no personal experience so everything I state is from sheer lack of expertise. Benefit from that!

I have once encountered someone who used a SSD as a boot disk and while read times were very good, write times were severely lacking after a few months of use. Read around 180 MB/s and write dropped to 35 MB/s. It may have been the brand/model he used, I just don't know.

What kept me away from them at the current time is the price. I currently have over 16 TB of internal storage, Can you imagine the cost of having that capacity in SSD format? Mind boggling! When I add to that the limitations of the PCI-e bus and raid controllers, there is no sense in investing in SSD's for mass storage. For a boot disk in raid0 configuration with two SSD drives, yes it makes sense if money is no object. The question is, how many people consider money no object nowadays?

• 2. Re: SSD hard drive with NLE anyone ???
            joshtownsend Level 2

It'll be cool in 2-3 years when they go down in price and get better. 

• 3. Re: SSD hard drive with NLE anyone ???
              Kroycom Level 1

If you use the SSD as your boot drive/program drive you'll notice speedier OS startups and some programs open up faster as well. Depending on the drive, Photoshop can open in about 2-4 seconds, for example.

There are massive differences in quality and performance though. Currently the "best" in the solid state game is the Intel X25-E, then the Intel X25M.

Here's a review about it http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/intel-x25-e-ssd,2158.html