5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 2, 2009 9:15 AM by the_wine_snob

Missing File error message

New4me

I'm new to PE7, hope you can help.

Just made an instant movie of some clips from daughters big softball game. Saved movie and came back later to edit, but was given error message "Where is file Human Crowd Cheer 04.mp3."  The theme I used was Performance Star...so the mp3 came from the instant move. I assume the file became unlinked. If it were one of my files, I would know where to look. But since this is an instant movie file, where would I look for it? I went though the program's files, but I'm not seeing it either.  Am I on the right track or is there another issue?

• 1. Re: Missing File error message
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Unfortunately, you've posted to the FAQ section. Unless Steve, or another MOD moves this out to main forum section, it will probably not be seen.

Do not know if PE-7 is exactly the same, but here's the Path to my PE4 setup. Note: I install all of my Adobe programs under C:\Adobe. You will probably have yours under C:\Program Files\Adobe\Premiere Elements (this might change to PE7, or similar)\Movie Themes\Entertainment\Performance Star. In that, or a similar hierarchy, you should have about 22 files, and the Human Crowd Cheer 04.mp3 should be in that group.

The Project files (the one you create, when you choose "New" is only an XML database, called [Project Name].prel. Sometimes, things can become unlinked in this file. PE is pretty smart and will help you re-establish those links. I'd let it help, and it'll open the dialog box that you encountered. There, navigate to the Path above, or similar, depending on where you installed PE7. Once you get down to the Performance Star folder, PE should find this file.