7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 1, 2009 8:27 PM by the_wine_snob

What is the safest lenght of movie to produce in PE7?

jerzypk Level 1

Hi, everyone! I am new to video editing and would like to know what is the safest or max lenght of the project to produce and burn in PE7. With menus, titles (one video track, and one audio). Thank you.

• 1. Re: What is the safest lenght of movie to produce in PE7?
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Welcome to the Adobe forum.

I think that the question that you are asking is: what is the longest Duration of a Project to fit on a DVD-Video? The answer to that is about one and a half hours with good results. Less will allow you to Transcode (the output to the necessary MPEG-2 encoding for the DVD) at a bit higher rate, allowing for slightly higher quality. Unless one has a lot of quick motion, of either the camera, or the subjects, one is likely not going to see much difference. Now, as you get longer in your Duration, the quality will start to dip. I've put up to two hours and fiftenn minutes with fairly slow moving subjects and no fast camera movement and the quality is still satisfactory, even on a large screen TV. Much longer than that, and you can definitely see the quality dropping.

Now, there is another possibility for your question: what is the longest Duration of a Project in PE? For this, one must first consider the Assests themselves, and also the computer system. The more difficult the Assests are to work with, or the weaker the computer is, the shorter the Project might need to be to allow one to edit comfortably. For this question, you will need to talk more about your Assets, type, camera, and all details. The same for your computer system. On my robust laptop, I've easily done 3 hour Projects with DV-AVI Type II files and never had a problem, or a slowdown. With a weak computer, one should consider breaking the Project into smaller pieces, and then doing an assembly for the final output to DVD.