9 Replies Latest reply on Jun 4, 2009 8:59 PM by GordonSmith

Adobe has me confused

Unisda

I'm a flash developer, and I've been for many years. I was recently convinced to try out Flex - which I did. While it won't take over flash in terms of the type of stuff I do (for now at least) I do recognise the prowess of Flex - and I even managed to convince my boss to purchase the Flex Builder for me along with my Flash CS4 upgrade. But now literally 4 days after I placed the order, I read in a blog about Flash Builder 4 - which I believe is the upgrade to Flex 3.

Is that the case. Should I then try and cancel by flex 3 Builder order and wait for Flash Builder 4.

• 1. Re: Adobe has me confused
          Christian Giordano Level 1

If you are at the beginning and you don't have to deliver any commercial Flex 3 project soon, I would just play with the 4 beta.

cheers, chr

• 2. Re: Adobe has me confused
            bluegenie_Sa

I told my boss I don't really need Flex right now - as we're doing RIAs and I've been playing with the free version, but since we were buying CS4 he thought we'd get them at the same time. Just contacted the resellers, turns out she quoted me incorrectly anyway, so that's great. I just spoke to a flex guy. I was confused after reading Lee Brimlow's blog with Flex Builder and Flash Builder, now I realise it's just a renaming.

But I'm glad though that if we do make a purchase in the next 3 months I know to ask for Flash Builder, rather than spending money on an old product.

Thanks for your repsonse.

• 3. Re: Adobe has me confused
              nehalia

It all depends on how quickly you will need to use it for your work.  Flash Builder 4 will most likely have to go through several beta versions before it's ready for commercial use.  Who knows how long that will be...

• 4. Re: Adobe has me confused
                Peter deHaan Level 4

Flex 4 is scheduled to be released in Q4 of 2009. [via http://opensource.adobe.com/wiki/display/flexsdk/Gumbo]