12 Replies Latest reply on Jun 5, 2009 8:18 AM by rasworth

jpeg's and tiff's in ACR causing print shop problem

rasworth Level 1

I'm a color management consultant in the Austin,Texas area - a client of mine runs a local print shop, so after our recent postings about ACR edits not showing up in jpeg images I sent him an email asking if he had seen the problem.  His reply follows:

"Oh yes!  We have seen this and I was completely confused when it  first
      occurred, and the customer wasn't very helpful about what he had done  while
      'saving' the image files.  We used Lightroom to run a batch conversion  and
      properly resave the files.  Is there more information on how to coach  the
      users to use a proper workflow for this?  Hopefully Adobe will soon  make
      this more foolproof, like the 'Save As' dialogue boxes.

Steve"

I believe Adobe needs to address this problem, probably with some combination of explanation/interface change.

Richard Southworth

• 1. Re: jpeg's and tiff's in ACR causing print shop problem
          RLAII

I must be spoiled by Lightroom because using three programs to get jpegs from raws seems crazy.

But after having looked into this, I would totally agree.  With these powerful programs it seems like there are a bunch of ways to do the same thing.  And some seem to end with files that have information that can't be read by other software.

I was under the impression that a jpeg has all the info there that it needs, 8-bit, no layers, color tag, yada, yada.

Now, I don't know what to think.  I look at a jpeg extension and wonder "Did they make this in ACR and it has some .xmp sidecar thingy that I don't see or they forgot to include?"  And even if it was there, would my other software recognize it and will it even print properly?  Do I have to open every file and see if it open in ACR or Ps?

I am 100% in favor of Adobe giving "power" to the people, but this seems to be causing more harm than good.