9 Replies Latest reply on Oct 3, 2009 8:54 PM by Dirmax

Choppy video when editing

Dirmax

I am new to video editing. I have a Canon VIXIA HF100 and had no problems importing my video files from my camera to my computer using Adobe Premiere Elements 7. The problem is when I play the videos, they are really choppy. The audio is ok, but the video really stutters. It makes it very difficult to edit (if not impossible). Is my computer not fast enough? I have the following:

CPU:
           Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz LGA 775
      MB:
           Asus P5W DH Deluxe Wifi-AP 975X P4/Celeron 1066FSB LGA775 DDR2 ATX Motherboard w/Audio, Dual Gigabit LAN, RAID/Serial ATA
      RAM:
           CORSAIR XMS2 3GB (3 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)
      Video:
           BFG Tech GeForce 8800 GTX 768MB 384-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16
      HDD:
           Western Digital WD1500AD Raptor X

XP Pro

I have played around with the settings, but nothing works. When I burn the videos to DVD, it plays fine. I would just like to be able to edit them. Any help would be appreciated! Thanks!

• 1. Re: Choppy video when editing
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

A quad core processor should be powerful enough to edit AVCHD -- assuming your operating system is up to date (SP3) and you have the latest firmware, drivers and Quicktime.

Is your Premiere Elements project set up as an AVCHD project, using the project presets?

Also, is there a red line above your video clips in the timeline? If so, try rendering the timeline (press Enter) until the red line turns green and see if that improves your performance.

• 2. Re: Choppy video when editing
            Paul_LS Level 4

No, your Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz LGA 775 is no way fast enough. I have the Quad Core Q6600 and it is barely enough to edit AVCHD smoothly.