5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 5, 2009 2:31 AM by Tomchook

video size, backlight color correction & noise reduction

Tomchook Level 1

Hello,

I'm fairly new to CS4, but I know the basic editing. I have a video which was shot against a light, so the person appears dark. I would like to correct the whole video. Is it possible? How can I do that? Is there an automated way to do it (like in photoshop)?

There is also background noise since it was shot in a public place. Is it possible to reduce that noise without loosing the voice of the person?

I've imported a picture, which is larger than the video. I don't know why, but Premiere made the size of the picture as the default, and now the video is smaller, with a black frame. Is it possible to resize the picture to the video size (without using photoshop again)?

Thank you very much in advance,

Tom

• 1. Re: video size, backlight color correction & noise reduction
          joshtownsend Level 2

You asked about three questions that would each require at least a ten minute training video each.

Video size is the easiest, just scale it till it fits your sequence size.

• 2. Re: video size, backlight color correction & noise reduction
            Curt Wrigley Level 4

If the video is really badly exposed it may not be fixable.

But..   I dont reccomend this but there are some auto filters in Pr that are simalr to doing "Auto levels" in PS.  For your case perhaps the auto contrast.  But its usually better to correct it manually with the color correction or levels filter than using the auto filters..

• 3. Re: video size, backlight color correction & noise reduction
              Tomchook Level 1

I know how to manually use the color correction in Photoshop, but how do I do it in Pr? And how do I apply it to the whole video?

Regarding the scaling.. How do I do that? Should I do it in Photoshop?

Thank you!

• 4. Re: video size, backlight color correction & noise reduction
                Dan Isaacs Level 2