12 Replies Latest reply on Jun 5, 2009 3:28 PM by kglad

Flash CS4

bratmode

Hello,

I'm new to Flash CS4 and have no training at all.  I had a web designer develop my flash files for my site and now they will not give me the .fla files, so that I can update/change them.  I have dowloaded both my .swf files off of my server to try and change them, but I'm not having any luck.  HELP!!!

I'm looking for any tips/help that anyone is willing to share/give. 

Thanks,

bratmode

• 1. Re: Flash CS4
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

you'll need to use a decompiler to create editable flas from your swf files.

• 2. Re: Flash CS4
            bratmode Level 1

Where do I get one?  Can I download one for free on the internet?

• 3. Re: Flash CS4
              Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Not to be a stick in the mud, but you may want to check out copyright law before you jump into trying to change the files.  They may not be yours to change.  Your best bet is to see what your contract with the designer says for starters.

• 4. Re: Flash CS4
                bratmode Level 1

Thanks for the concern Ned, but I can asure you; I own the files.

• 5. Re: Flash CS4

I don't doubt you own the files, but that is not the same as owning the copyright to them.  It's much like owning a music CD or a video... your rights to use them are limited.  I won't dwell on it, but it's something that's better understood than ignored.

• 6. Re: Flash CS4

(do you ever do work for clients and not give them the source files?  i would think this would need to be made explicit at the start and, even if agreed upon by the client, would have a tendency to cause a dissatisfied client.)

• 7. Re: Flash CS4