6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 27, 2012 4:05 AM by mikizil

Batch importing eps equations into Indesign

Thangaraj Mohan

Hi, I am Thangaraj Mohan, and I am working as an layout artist. Now I am working on a maths book which has tons of equations in it. The whole text keyed in MS word and equations typed inside the MSword using Mathtype equation editor. I exported all equation from word to eps format using mathtype equation exporter and mathtype replaces all equations with its name, ie. <<equ001>>. Now what i need is to importe the equations into indesign as a batch.

• 1. Re: Batch importing eps equations into Indesign
          lindaw2396 Level 1

I would like to see an answer to this, too! I've been doing this kind of work for over 30 years and have kept up with technology along the way. The idea that we STILL have to MANUALLY place these MATH EQUATIONS (created using MathType) in our projects one-at-a-time is outrageous to me, not to mention tedious and time-consuming. And I've come upon another problem with equations. A Microsoft Word document being produced using Microsoft Equation 3.0 - definitely no automation here, not even to change font or size (unlike MathType which does that automatically along with exporting and replacing with filename in text). Now I have placed Word files into Adobe InDesign CS4 WITHOUT exporting the equations and they come into the file as EPS files with "image" names. This is okay for printing (still testing this) BUT I want to produce an ebook and have the equations READABLE. Hopefully someone with more experience than I will participate in this discussion as I am not finding anything anywhere. Today I came across a Word document with an equation, that when I double-clicked on it, I got the message that I needed to have Msxml2 installed. Yikes! My solution? Send the Word document back to the creator and have all the equations rekeyed using MathType!!

• 2. Re: Batch importing eps equations into Indesign
            Shonkyin Level 3