9 Replies Latest reply on Jun 10, 2009 6:58 PM by kglad

gotoAndPlay is not smooth-help

roobp

hi all, im new at this so please excuse me if my problem is too simple to fix. I do have a client who is on a deadline tho.

I have imported a flv file made in after effects, plays smooth there no probs. I need it to resume playback at the end from frame 708. I have the following action placed on a second layer on a keyframe:

import flash.display.MovieClip;
      this.gotoAndPlay(708);

• 1. Re: gotoAndPlay is not smooth-help
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

what happens after the timeline goes to and starts playing from frame 708?

• 2. Re: gotoAndPlay is not smooth-help
            roobp Level 1

the animation continues then on, but the jump from the last frame to 708 is not smooth. There is a slight pause in there somewhere and i dont have any other code anywhere.

• 3. Re: gotoAndPlay is not smooth-help
              roobp Level 1

i just realized why you were asking me what happened, it seems my original post did not appear intact not sure why, the message got truncated..

I had included at the end of mypost that I also tried to just put gotoAndPlay(708) on the last frame, but that gives me the same result.

I do appreciate any feedback and help I can get on this.

• 4. Re: gotoAndPlay is not smooth-help

you may be able to work around your problem but when you import video to the flash timeline, you lose a lot.  relevant to your situation, i don't believe the video is tightly bound to the timeline.  ie, the last image in the video may play before or after the last timeline frame plays.

to test, add a new layer.  just above, what appears to be the last video frame, add a keyframe and attach:

trace(getTimer());

this should be the same frame you have your gotoAndPlay(708).

then in frame 708, attach:

trace(getTimer())

• 5. Re: gotoAndPlay is not smooth-help
                  roobp Level 1

kglad thank you for your prompt replies.