6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 14, 2009 9:13 PM by Bachir El Khoury

Dynamic link between Photoshop and Flash Catalyst does not exist

Datorfr

Hi,

I'm a french developer and I have a question.

I didnt find any Dynamci link between Photoshop and Flash Catalyst.

Let me explain :

I have a photoshop file (.psd) and I import it into Flash Catalyst.

But I have some modification to do on my design file (psd) but the design does not update himself in Flash Catalyst .

Do you plane to add the possibility ?

Thanks a lot !

Clement

http://www.dator.fr

• 1. Re: Dynamic link between Photoshop and Flash Catalyst does not exist
          Kevin Rommen

it isn't a direct link like you would find in InDesign!!

- What you need to to is import the design in Catalyst

- Archive your PSD, you won't be needing this anymore

- Work from Catalyst from now on

- When you want to edit some design you rightmouse-click on the component and choose "Edit in Photoshop"

Hint: try using Illustrator instead of Photoshop! Every design-element from Photoshop gets converted to a PNG resulting in a catastrofical size your SWF file. Illustrator on the other hand is vector which can be easier converted to FXG, this will generate code instead of images.

Same design tested which i tested in Photoshop & Illustrator

Photoshop -> Catalyst -> resulted in swf of 3 Mb

Illustrator -> Catalyst -> resulted in swf of 200 Kb

Hope this answers your question

• 2. Re: Dynamic link between Photoshop and Flash Catalyst does not exist
            acath Level 4

Given that you named the class TextDynamicLayout, it implies you are trying to handle wordwrapping text.  That requires handing down the VBox's explicitWidth to the Text controls before they get measured.  Wordwrapping text can be any size so it needs to have its width fixed in order to determine its height.