7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 12, 2009 11:19 AM by One_Life

Best way to learn Flash Builder 4?

One_Life

Can someone refer me to some good examples to try out with Flash Builder 4, or other suggested learning material.  I've looked at some of the tutorials, but would like to use some examples.

(note I have some background -- a 3 day course in Flex 3, and 2 days in LifeCycle services -- that I took one year ago - thanks).

• 1. Re: Best way to learn Flash Builder 4?
          David_F57 Level 5

If the course you took is the one I'm thinking of you should have recieved fairly comprehensive course material including zip files of all the lessons in both the base and completed format. These will work in Flashbuilder as you only need to change from the gumbo SDK to the Flex 3 sdk. It would be better for you to become familiar again with the course material before venturing into the Flex4(gumbo) side of things. There are several issues with Flashbuilder IDE  that will hinder the learning/memory refreshing process.

Reality is, unless you really know what you are doing beta environments are not a good chioce as a learning playground unless pain is your friend .

• 2. Re: Best way to learn Flash Builder 4?
            SunilAdobe Adobe Employee

The Help - > Flash Builder Start Page can be helpful, check it out and let us know.

When you say >>I've looked at some of the tutorials, but would like to use some examples<<, what was that you were trying to find and were you using the livedocs or the bundled help?

• 3. Re: Best way to learn Flash Builder 4?
              tstatler Level 1

The 'Tour de Flex' AIR application has also proven popular with developers learning Flex.

http://www.adobe.com/devnet/flex/tourdeflex/

Tim

• 4. Re: Best way to learn Flash Builder 4?
                One_Life Level 1