10 Replies Latest reply on May 15, 2017 11:54 PM by Abambo

Is there already a script for showing style inheritance?

Joel Cherney Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Howdy scripting forum folks,

I started playing around with ways to visually represent the entire set of styles in a given document, showing which styles are based on which other styles. However, I think that it's entirely beyond my JS abilities at the moment. Has anyone ever written a script that would show all of the styles in a tree format, so that it would be really easy to determine which style was the "root" style, and which values for a given child style would inherit from the parent?

I only ask because the documents I typically recieve have no styling information, or styles constructed so poorly that it's faster for me to delete all the styles and remake them myself. However, one my clients must have hired a new designer, who actually has a clue and uses styles fairly well, but not perfectly. So, in order to figure out which styles inherit the font from above, and which ones have to be specified manually, I basically need to open up each one and note what it is based on, and how it is different from what it's based on. This is giving me some brand-new grey hairs, as I'm working in a doc with about 100 para styles. Surely, someone has already faced this and whipped together some sort of visual representation of inheritance in styles?

If not... I'm going to have a lot of questions for you as I stumble through this with my rudimentary JS knowledge. TIA.

• 1. Re: Is there already a script for showing style inheritance?
          Steven.. Level 3

Harbs, don't you do that in your autofill pro plugin. You may have shared already too many secrets for 1 day.

Steven

http://scriptui.com

• 2. Re: Is there already a script for showing style inheritance?
            [Jongware] Most Valuable Participant