2 Replies Latest reply on Jun 11, 2009 1:37 PM by Sean_Wilson

Director wrapper application

Alex Kernel

Hi guys. I am a flash developer. I am a absolute null in Director. but I need to know the answers on this questions. Is it possible and how? .

and if possible please give me links/tutorials/ways where I should go next for implementation.

we need an Director application that will be a wrapper for another  Director app and for SWF file.

so this application will need to do the following:
      1. Get parameters from the HTML page like flashvars, i.e. dcrURL,

2. Load an external shockwave game(.dcr) using the dcrURL (dcrURl it is external param form 1) )
      3. Load external SWF. Or this swf will be embeded into Director application. BUT this swf should load another external swfs (loadMovie("http"//....bar.swf"))

4. The SWF should be able to get main Shockwave's screen

5. Can this swf use ActionScript 3?

Thanks a lot for any help

• 1. Re: Director wrapper application
          Applied CD Level 1

Hey Alex, I’m in the opposite boat, I’ve been coding Director for decades and I’m just now finishing my third major Flash/AS3 app. for which I also need a Director wrapper. I can answer some of your questions:

Item 3: My main timeline SWF uses the loader class to reach out and load an external swf. This works even when the main timeline swf is played as a Director asset through a projector. I should warn you that my external swf is actually just a relative path to a nearby swf in another directory, it’s not a fully qualified URL but that shouldn’t make any difference.