7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 12, 2009 12:04 PM by LWeedop

How to batch convert with After Effects CS3

LWeedop

I sure hope this isn't a super silly question!

I have never used After Effects as it came with my Adobe Master Suite and it's quite duanting to learn all of those programs at once. I'm trying to figure out how to convert several MPEG files to AVI using a batch convert process. It would seem to me that would be a pretty simple process and I've read in several locations that it can't be done with Premiere Pro any more. They also say it can be done in After Effects but they don't explain how.

I'm pretty new to video editing so layman's terms would be much appreciated. I'm running After Effects CS3 on Windows XP.

• 1. Re: How to batch convert with After Effects CS3
          Andrew Yoole MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Personally, I would suggest that there are many better tools than AE for batch converting MPEG files.  Have you tried using the standalone Adobe Media Encoder bundled with your Master Suite?

• 2. Re: How to batch convert with After Effects CS3
            Adolfo Rozenfeld Adobe Employee

It can be done, but After Effects is far from being a specialized encoding application. A bit like using a ten ton truck to commute

In CS4, threre is such an specialized app. It's called Adobe Media Encoder, and it can be used in standalone mode or invoked from within Premiere Pro or AE.

Remember, After Effects is a content creation tool that offers multiple ways to render the content you create. But it's not an utility to convert or encode video formats.

If you really want to do this in AE, this could be a way:

Import all your MPEG files in the Project Panel.

Select them all (drag with your mouse or make Project panel active, then Control+A on Win or Command+A on Mac).

Drag them all to the New Comp button at the bottom of the project panel.