4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 14, 2009 7:20 AM by PixelBucks

Need Some Help ! Newbie Alert !

PixelBucks

Ok I am a absolute newbie so please go easy on me if I ask anything too stupid lol...

OK just recently I started shooting in RAW... I have been playing around with how best then to edit/convert those pics... it's a toss up between batch processing them all in Camera Raw (I have version 4.0 at the moment not sure how new that is !) it seems to allow me to make changes to a bunch of pictures at the same time... or if I should really push the boat out and use LightRoom... I have just got a copy of 2.3 but havent played around with it yet... I aint overly technical so not sure if it will be a bit beyond me lol...

The questions I have... when I have tweeked the pics in Camera Raw, and I save as JPG's the colours are not the same in the JPG... they become a lot less vibrant and look washed out... is there any way to stop this ? It did suggest I saved them as DNG's ??? What are DNG's ? Am I suppose to save them as DNG's and then convert into JPG's ?

• 1. Re: Need Some Help ! Newbie Alert !
          JimHess-8IPblY Level 3

No, just slow down a little bit.  First of all, if you are using ACR 4.0 then you must have Photoshop CS3.  If you go to the download page you can get version 4.6 which is the last version that was produced for CS3.

As far as the color change is concerned, you probably don't have your color management rules set up properly in Photoshop.  ACR will export in one of three color modes.  You need to know how to handle this.  At the very least you should save your JPEG images in the sRGB color space.  Then they will be compatible with the Web and with most commercial printers.