9 Replies Latest reply on Jun 29, 2009 2:40 PM by kk88

Addressing parent components

kp kp

I am trying to make a color configurator using Flash Catalyst, I created a few custom components, some of them contain the buttons (to choose the colors) and the others contain the masks that overlap the base picture.

My app structure is:

Main stage (containing the base picture and the component1) > component1 (containing masks and component2) > component2 (buttons)

I need to reach the component1 from within the  component2 (_parent) and be able to change the stages, I am not sure thats currenty possible in FC so i am asking for advises or hints on how to do it in FB i suppose?

PS: I am a Flash Pro dev. trying to learn the FB&FC because i see good potential...

THX

• 1. Re: Addressing parent components
          Daniel Chay

Hello,

You can select any component in the layers panel and put an effect on it as a result of an interaction.  I have attached a simple example you can take a look at.  Let us know if this has helped.

Daniel Chay

Catalyst Automation Test Developer

• 2. Re: Addressing parent components
            Philippe Chaurand Level 1

Hi,

I think I ve the same problem. Here is my case:

I ve a panel (with a few states, which are the screens of my application) and a menu (with buttons) at the root level. I want to add an interaction to every button of my menu, in order to navigate through the different screens of the panel.

But I can't because the states of the panel arent displayed in the "Custom Interactions" Catalyst's popup: indeed, I can only see the states of the application and the ones of the menu.

Any idea to do this ?

Cheers.

• 3. Re: Addressing parent components
              Terl2424 Level 1

I've come up against the same wall. It would be really nice to be able to access any state of any component from anywhere in my application. I would guess this is a restriction for a reason. Can anyone explain why this is, so we can better understand?