17 Replies Latest reply on Jun 17, 2009 1:06 PM by Jose7822

Best Format for Editing

Jose7822

Hey guys!

Newbie here wanting to know how to best approach this video editing mess :-P  Anyways, I'm capturing gameplay from my PS3 using a Blackmagic Intensity Pro card.  The files end up recorded in the Uncompressed AVI format at 720p (60fps) which creates huge files that don't seem to work well for editing (or maybe I just don't have the hardware to handle them).  Talking about hardware, I use a Pentium D 3.0 GHz dual core, 4GB of RAM, ATI Radeon HD3450 (512 MB) card, Windows XP SP3 (32 bit) with 2 x 1TB Barracuda in RAID 0 (for capturing only) and 1 HDD for OS and Programs.  I use this machine for capturing my gameplay.  It handles the capture of Uncompressed files just fine, but it's no good when it comes to editing them.

As a last resort, I'm currently experimenting editing these files on my other machine which is a Core2Quad 2.66 GHz, 8GB of RAM, ATI Radeon HD 3600 (512MB) card, Vista Home Premium x64, 3 x 320GB Barracudas (no RAID here).  This is actually my DAW (Digital Audio Workstation) which is why I'm using it as a last resort since, like I said, my Pentium D computer is not handling video editing of these files too well.